Four colleges to depart from North Atlantic Conference |

Another example of the ever-shifting conference landscape. It’s an issue that’s often prompted by travel expenses and time away from classes.

The North Atlantic Conference (NAC), of which Johnson State College athletics is a member, is facing upheaval as four of its institutions will be departing as of May 2018.

Currently, the NAC consists of 10 colleges: Castleton University (CU), Colby-Sawyer College (CSC), the University of Maine at Farmington (UMF), Green Mountain College (GMC), Husson University (HU), Lyndon State College (LSC), Thomas College (TC), Maine Maritime Academy (MMA), New England College (NEC) and JSC. The conference will maintain this roster until the end of the current academic year, when CU, CSC, GMC, and NEC will be transitioning into different athletic conferences.

“There is an ever-shifting landscape in conferences, especially in Division III,” said JSC Director of Athletics Jamey Ventura. “When the conferences were first forming, schools got into any that they could. But now, when you look at the geography and fit in terms of private or public schools, you can end up with kind of a mismatch.”

Read the entire article at

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.